What makes a Wine Kosher for Passover?

Primary tabs

Why is Passover Wine Different than All other Wines?
By Patti Neumann, CEO, CITYPEEK Food & Wine


So, with all of your Passover plans, you may have wondered just what is the difference between kosher wine and kosher for Passover wine?


The Basics of kosher wines is it must be created under a rabbi's immediate supervision, with only Sabbath-observant Jewish males touching the grapes from the crushing phase through the bottling.


For a wine to be kosher for Passover, the answer as to what makes it so is surprisingly simple when you consider how wine is made. The process of fermentation in winemaking turns grape juice into an alcoholic beverage. During fermentation, yeasts transform sugars present in the juice into ethanol and carbon dioxide (as a by-product).  While all wines require some sort of mold (yeast) for fermentation, kosher for Passover wine must be made from a mold that has not been grown on bread (such as sugar or fruit) and must exclude several common preservatives, like potassium sorbate.


Knowing I needed some kosher for Passover vino for Sedar gifts, I headed over to Miller’s Deli Greenspring. Co-owner, Jeff Karlin hand-picked a white and red Israeli wine from Mt Hermon of Golan Heights Winery 2012 and an Australian blend Altoona Hills Cabernet-Shiraz 2012 . To be sure, check the label for the P, typically just to the right of the circle K or U.




Patti Neumann is Publisher of CITYPEEK.com and an award-winning columnist, brand builder and blogger on food, wine and luxury.

Find her page on Facebook/Twitter: Citypeek Patti and ceo@citypeek.com.

Connect with CITYPEEK

Facebook: Click


Twitter: Click


Instagram: Click  





Have a story of interest or item to highlight? Email ceo@citypeek.com